Sonya Pemberton receives the Jill Robb Award for Outstanding Leadership, Achievement and Service to the Victorian Screen Industry

Melbourne: Last night Genepool Production’s Creative Director Sonya Pemberton was honoured to receive The Jill Robb Award for Outstanding Leadership, Achievement and Service to the Victorian Screen Industry. The major award recognises a Victorian female screen practitioner who has shown leadership through their achievements and involvement in the industry, including the mentoring of early career practitioners, particularly other women. Jenni Tosi, Chief Executive Officer, Film Victoria.

“Congratulations to Sonya on this well-deserved award. Sonya’s passion and expertise in creating high-end science programs has raised awareness of its social importance and also stimulated audience appetite for informative and engaging documentary content. In addition, the encouragement and support she has given to others, particularly women seeking to follow in her footsteps, will continue to inspire screen practitioners and pave new paths, for the benefit of our entire industry.”

“We congratulate Sonya on her achievements and thank her for her ongoing commitment to the Victorian screen industry.“

Sonya Pemberton, Creative Director, Genepool Productions.

“Thank you to Film Victoria for this wonderful award! To receive acknowledgement for leadership and mentoring means a great deal. I am grateful for the generosity of my mentors – extraordinary people like Daryl Karp, Alison Leigh and Sandra Levy who held doors open and guided the way for me. If I can pass on a little of what I have been given, then I’m thrilled.”

Sharing time, energy and knowledge, building strength in each other, that’s how we can all do – and be - our best.”

Based in Melbourne Australia, Genepool Productions specialises in creating quality science documentaries for international audiences. Recent productions include ‘Uranium-Twisting the Dragon’s Tail’ and ‘Jabbed - love, fear and vaccines’. Sonya Pemberton, 2012 Emmy award winner and record breaking four-time winner of the prestigious Eureka Award for Science Journalism, leads the company.

Previous recipients of the Jill Robb Award include feature film producer, Nadia Tass, award-winning editor, Jill Bilcock and feature film producer, Sue Maslin.


NewsPhillip Dean